Governing Body

Welcome to the Highbury Fields School Governing Body

Governors are volunteers and give their time to support the school. The governing body is made up of parents, school staff, representatives of Islington local authority and the broader community.

The role of the governing body is to:

  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • Hold the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff.
  • Oversee the financial performance of the school, making sure its money is well spent.

Governors do not get involved in the day to day running of the school. In the first instance, any problems or queries relating to your child’s education or experience at the school should be referred using the normal school systems, starting with the class teacher or form tutor and ending up with the headteacher.

Each governor serves for a term of 4 years (which can renewed if that governor seeks to be re-elected or reappointed). Parent governor elections are held periodically when a serving parent governor is reaching the end of their term of office. Similarly, staff governors are elected by the staff within the school. Community governors are co-opted by the governing body.

Should you wish to express an interest in becoming a governor at Highbury Fields, or if you wish to contact the governing body for any other reason, please use the contact form

The Chair of the Full Governing Body

Richard Hadley

The Vice-Chair of the Full Governing Body

Elizabeth Coll

Governing Body

Elizabeth Coll               Co-opted Governor
Richard Hadley             Co-opted Governor
Carol Tagg                    Co-opted Governor
Keith Angus                  Co-opted Governor
Angelo Weekes            Co-opted Governor
Maria Cunningham       Co-opted Governor

Nicola Baird                  Parent Governor
Nabila El-Ahmadi          Parent Governor
Tim Fox                         Headteacher
Ann Mullins                   Associate member

Academic Standards Committee

This committee oversees pupil achievement, ensuring the school provides a high quality learning experience and delivers a broad and balanced curriculum in keeping with the school's aims, all pupil needs and legal requirements.


Tim Fox                         (Headteacher)
Richard Hadley              (Chair of Governors)
Keith Angus                   (LEA Governor)
Elizabeth Coll                (Community Governor)
Carol Tagg                     (Community Governor)


Children, Wellbeing and Community Committee

This committee oversees pupils’ social and emotional well-being and extra-curricular activities, ensuring the school offers a safe and supportive environment within which to learn. It also oversees the involvement of parents and engagement of the broader community.


Tim Fox                          (Headteacher)
Richard Hadley              (Chair of Governors)

Nicola Baird                   (Parent Governor)
Nabila El Ahmadi           (Parent Governor)
Angelo Weekes              (LEA Governor)
Denise Joseph               (Observer)

Resources Committee

This committee oversees the school finances, ensuring that the school operates within all applicable financial regulations and is achieving value for money. It oversees the maintenance and development of the school site and premises to secure an environment which is both safe and conducive to learning. It is also responsible for the adoption and implementation of staffing policies and procedures, ensuring that all principles of good and fair employment practice are adhered to.


Tim Fox                          (Headteacher)
Richard Hadley               (Chair of Governors)
Alex Addo                      (Parent Governor)
Vacancy                         (Teacher Governor)
Jane Frawley                  (Parent Governor)
Ann Mullins                     (Associate Member)
Jessica Gavin                 (School Business Manager - Observer)

Faculty Link Governors

English Literature & Language         Nicola Baird
Inclusion                                           Elizabeth Coll      
Mathematics & ICT                           Keith Angus
Modern Foreign Languages            
Science                                             Nicola Baird
Sixth Form                                        Elizabeth Coll

Lead Governors

Child Protection & Safeguarding       Nicola Baird
Inclusion                                            Elizabeth Coll
Pupil Premium                                   Nabila El-Ahmadi
Sixth Form                                         Elizabeth Coll
Wellbeing                                          Angelo Weekes

Associate Members and Observers

Denise Joseph      (Deputy Headteacher: Inclusion and Child Protection)
Kavita Vishnuram  (Deputy Headteacher)

Annabel Fairweather  (Deputy Headteacher)

Jessica Gavin      (School Business Manager)

Amy Meredith       (Assistant Headteacher)

Ben Farmer          (Assistant Headteacher)

Ann Mullins          (Associate Member)